E60 E60: AUX input coding
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    BFI Noob
    jinsta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    7
    Car Specs:
    Year
    2004
    Model
    E60
    Engine
    530D
    Fuel
    Wiesels
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts


    Donate Please click the
    image to support
    BMWForums.info
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site

    E60: AUX input coding

    Afternoon All

    I really need a Aux In in my life as have the basic head unit fitted to the e60 (non MP3, no sat nav, but has a cd changer to help keep sanity)

    Seen this guide http://www.kneb.net/bmw/E60-1/Aux%20Input.pdf and fitting doesn't look an issue, but the final step involves coding and reads:

    Program the retrofit using DISPlus or GT1 via path CIP

    So is this something that a dealer has to perform or are there 3rd parties who do this for sensible beer money like? Something else that bugs me is are track displays of cds only capable of listing as 'Track, Track 2 etc' as none I have tried ever offer any title/song lists or is this result of age and need of some sort of update too

    Thanks in advance Jin

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    NealP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Middlesex
    Posts
    2,153
    Car Specs:
    Year
    2006 + 2007
    Model
    E90 325i M Sport + E87 120d
    Engine
    2.5l + 2.0l
    Fuel
    Petrol + Diesel
    Thanks
    526
    Thanked 1,573 Times in 1,071 Posts


    You need to find a garage with autologic...there is a menu in there that does aux coding

    Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2

  3. #3
    BFI Noob
    jinsta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    7
    Car Specs:
    Year
    2004
    Model
    E60
    Engine
    530D
    Fuel
    Wiesels
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts


    Quote Originally Posted by NealP View Post
    You need to find a garage with autologic...there is a menu in there that does aux coding

    Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
    Any recs on someone around the NW London region? just need an idea on price before i order the aux cable bits

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    NealP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Middlesex
    Posts
    2,153
    Car Specs:
    Year
    2006 + 2007
    Model
    E90 325i M Sport + E87 120d
    Engine
    2.5l + 2.0l
    Fuel
    Petrol + Diesel
    Thanks
    526
    Thanked 1,573 Times in 1,071 Posts



  5. #5
    BFI Noob
    jinsta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    7
    Car Specs:
    Year
    2004
    Model
    E60
    Engine
    530D
    Fuel
    Wiesels
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts


    Thats brill, i've ordered the cable via ebay and will give a few of the local ones on the list a shout (ones less than 10mins away)

    Read a few people were lucky and it was already pre-programed on the motors, but guess will find out soon enough!

    Cheers again!

  6. #6
    BFI Noob
    jinsta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    7
    Car Specs:
    Year
    2004
    Model
    E60
    Engine
    530D
    Fuel
    Wiesels
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts


    Anyone know if a snap on modis will be able to activate aux? Tried another unit (cant member the make/modfl) and although was able to get into two diff mask menu's neither had a aux mentioned. Would it not be there as aux not plugged in (missing that plug that conects into main stereo plug) or the modis likely to fair better? If so is it labled aux or something diff in the menu sys - thanks in advance jin

    EDIT: Tried this again and answers no to above. The option just isn't there to be enabled to def need to go down a programing route.

    The Aux cable i got, although listed for a e60 was a OEM e90 one which had a different end and my car was missing the plug titled X13813. BMW were a waste of time for the plug as so low value, think they just could not be asked to even look (or callback) but don't matter as eBay do them:

    -1-jpg
    Quadlock phone aux in audio connector kit | eBay

    Now if i knew the car didn't have this before i bought the cable, i would have just made my own Aux cable as it was just a case of connecting the 3 wires to the to a female 3.5jack (or in my case just cutting the oem cable ends and joining them) but would have worked out under a fiver

    -6-jpg
    Last edited by jinsta; 31-08-2012 at 11:53.

  7. #7
    BFI Noob
    jinsta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    7
    Car Specs:
    Year
    2004
    Model
    E60
    Engine
    530D
    Fuel
    Wiesels
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts


    Finally got round to having the AUX activated yd - was 90inc Vat for the programming ...but eh, its working now!

    This also gets me O.E.ERRRRRRM Kenwood A300 working...



    Yep i know, looks a little gash and they could have made the knob bigger but does have the function behind it I need (MP3s via USB or IPOD) and sounds quite nice (I'm on the basic speaker setup so nowt flash to impress really) - It could have been fitted more discreet, but weighed it looking like this and only having to mess about on one panel opposed to making several holes around the gaff (was contemplating flushing the knob into the dash so looked by making a little cut out but glad went against that) - pricewise it was cheap as chips ($49.99+Shipping/customs to UK...about 80 all in)

    Gotta say, whilst at the sound shop yd...saw that Alpine just released a very discreet little alternative (knobs tiny and on the display screen unit, about 200) so deffo one to consider

  8. #8
    Unverified Member
    ravizone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1
    Car Specs:
    Year
    2006
    Model
    BMW 525D SE
    Engine
    525D
    Fuel
    Diesel
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts


    Need help as I am looking to get the music played using AUX and also the specifc make of the product please

    Quote Originally Posted by jinsta View Post
    Finally got round to having the AUX activated yd - was 90inc Vat for the programming ...but eh, its working now!

    This also gets me O.E.ERRRRRRM Kenwood A300 working...



    Yep i know, looks a little gash and they could have made the knob bigger but does have the function behind it I need (MP3s via USB or IPOD) and sounds quite nice (I'm on the basic speaker setup so nowt flash to impress really) - It could have been fitted more discreet, but weighed it looking like this and only having to mess about on one panel opposed to making several holes around the gaff (was contemplating flushing the knob into the dash so looked by making a little cut out but glad went against that) - pricewise it was cheap as chips ($49.99+Shipping/customs to UK...about 80 all in)

    Gotta say, whilst at the sound shop yd...saw that Alpine just released a very discreet little alternative (knobs tiny and on the display screen unit, about 200) so deffo one to consider
    Ravi - Need help as I am looking to get the music played using AUX and also the specifc make

User Tag List

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •