An idiots guide to BMW INPA installation with a modded USB Vagcom for Windows VISTA - Page 2
Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 66
  1. #11
    ...is still Alive ;-)
    BFI Hero
    wanda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,732
    Car Specs:
    Year
    1996
    Model
    E36
    Engine
    TurboCharged 1.8 M43 ;-)
    Fuel
    Petrol
    Thanks
    1,802
    Thanked 1,156 Times in 820 Posts


    Donate Please click the
    image to support
    BMWForums.info
    Click Here To Contribute To Our Site
    Quote Originally Posted by FAL View Post
    Look in the C:\Ediabas\ECU folder and see if you have any *.prg and *.grp files. The SYS-005 error normally relates to INPA not bing able to find the correct ECU description file for your ECU.
    In that folder i can only see 25 *.prg files and NONE of *.grp files ... is this correct ?

  2. #12
    Electrical Tinkerer
    Moderator
    FAL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Midlands
    Posts
    342
    Car Specs:
    Year
    2006
    Model
    MINI Cooper S (R56)
    Engine
    N14B16A
    Fuel
    Petrol
    Thanks
    683
    Thanked 492 Times in 221 Posts


    Quote Originally Posted by wanda View Post
    In that folder i can only see 25 *.prg files and NONE of *.grp files ... is this correct ?
    I'm not sure about what *.prg files are included with Doggy's package, but normaly, no. You shoud have at least some *.grp files - these instruct INPA about which specific ECU's belong to which ECU families, so that it can identify them. Run Instprog.exe again and see how you get on.

  3. #13
    ...is still Alive ;-)
    BFI Hero
    wanda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,732
    Car Specs:
    Year
    1996
    Model
    E36
    Engine
    TurboCharged 1.8 M43 ;-)
    Fuel
    Petrol
    Thanks
    1,802
    Thanked 1,156 Times in 820 Posts


    Quote Originally Posted by FAL View Post
    I'm not sure about what *.prg files are included with Doggy's package, but normaly, no. You shoud have at least some *.grp files - these instruct INPA about which specific ECU's belong to which ECU families, so that it can identify them. Run Instprog.exe again and see how you get on.
    I've run Instprog.exe under WinXP SP2 compatibility mode & this comes up ....


    Here's a close up shot. (FYI: This also happened when i FIRST installed INPA, i thought this was nothing to worry about)


    I pushed "OK" and the program exited.
    There is no change in the /ecu/ folder. Still the SAME 25 *.prg files

  4. #14
    Electrical Tinkerer
    Moderator
    FAL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Midlands
    Posts
    342
    Car Specs:
    Year
    2006
    Model
    MINI Cooper S (R56)
    Engine
    N14B16A
    Fuel
    Petrol
    Thanks
    683
    Thanked 492 Times in 221 Posts


    Quote Originally Posted by wanda View Post
    I've run Instprog.exe under WinXP SP2 compatibility mode & this comes up ....


    Here's a close up shot. (FYI: This also happened when i FIRST installed INPA, i thought this was nothing to worry about)

    I pushed "OK" and the program exited.


    The length of the source drive address is too long and is probably causing the run-time error. Move the Referenz folder to the C:\ drive as doggy said and run it again:
    Quote Originally Posted by dailydoggy View Post
    Now go back to the INPA \install folder on C drive.
    Open C/INPA folder/REFERENZ/INSTALL.

  5. #15
    Banned
    dailydoggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    cheshire
    Posts
    3,710
    Car Specs:
    Year
    2001
    Model
    E46
    Engine
    330i
    Fuel
    Petrol
    Thanks
    661
    Thanked 2,358 Times in 1,417 Posts


    a plonker not following the instructions to the letter as instructed and running before they can walk...

    not copying the unzipped software folder to the C drive before executing it (as is instructed), and you also get those sort of runtime failure errors if you dont run the EXE XP compatibilty mode correctly 2 times (as is instructed)...
    Last edited by dailydoggy; 26-09-2012 at 21:18.

  6. #16
    ...is still Alive ;-)
    BFI Hero
    wanda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,732
    Car Specs:
    Year
    1996
    Model
    E36
    Engine
    TurboCharged 1.8 M43 ;-)
    Fuel
    Petrol
    Thanks
    1,802
    Thanked 1,156 Times in 820 Posts


    @dailydoggy I always made sure the .exe file was under XP SP2 compatibility mode. @FAL I've moved the entire folder to C:\INPAEDIABAS\ & then double checked the excuteable file is at XP SP2.


    I've got that same error message again. .... I think I might just need to delete everything & re-download that .rar file (even though WinRAR reported no CRC errors) ....Urghh, software!!

  7. #17
    Banned
    dailydoggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    cheshire
    Posts
    3,710
    Car Specs:
    Year
    2001
    Model
    E46
    Engine
    330i
    Fuel
    Petrol
    Thanks
    661
    Thanked 2,358 Times in 1,417 Posts


    i managed it in Vista and ive never seen or used Vista before in my life (i still dont use it to be honest i only did it cos everybody else had failed with it ), if you follow the instructions to the exact letter and use my INPA upload then i cannot see where the problem lies at all, cos i know it does work, i used the said Vista laptop and thoroughly tested it on my car afterwards...
    Last edited by dailydoggy; 27-09-2012 at 00:36.

  8. #18
    Electrical Tinkerer
    Moderator
    FAL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Midlands
    Posts
    342
    Car Specs:
    Year
    2006
    Model
    MINI Cooper S (R56)
    Engine
    N14B16A
    Fuel
    Petrol
    Thanks
    683
    Thanked 492 Times in 221 Posts


    Quote Originally Posted by wanda View Post
    @FAL I've moved the entire folder to C:\INPAEDIABAS\ & then double checked the excuteable file is at XP SP2. I've got that same error message again. .... I think I might just need to delete everything & re-download that .rar file (even though WinRAR reported no CRC errors) ....Urghh, software!!
    If you want, i can talk you through installing INPA in a different way on Windows XP, Vista, 7 or 8, if it helps?

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to FAL For This Useful Post:

    simonsays (27-09-2012)

  10. #19
    ...is still Alive ;-)
    BFI Hero
    wanda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,732
    Car Specs:
    Year
    1996
    Model
    E36
    Engine
    TurboCharged 1.8 M43 ;-)
    Fuel
    Petrol
    Thanks
    1,802
    Thanked 1,156 Times in 820 Posts


    Strangely....

    Instead of the Vista Home Premium , (what a POS that thing!) ...I took another spare laptop Vista Business 32bit & INPA is succesfully installed. I was able to read infomation from the car

  11. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to wanda For This Useful Post:

    dailydoggy (27-09-2012),FAL (27-09-2012)

  12. #20
    Banned
    dailydoggy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    cheshire
    Posts
    3,710
    Car Specs:
    Year
    2001
    Model
    E46
    Engine
    330i
    Fuel
    Petrol
    Thanks
    661
    Thanked 2,358 Times in 1,417 Posts


    marvelous...

    possibly a corrupted or messy version of Vista on the other machine? security software can sometimes play havoc aswell...

  13. The Following User Says Thank You to dailydoggy For This Useful Post:

    wanda (28-09-2012)

Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

User Tag List

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •